top of page

Ruth Sermons



Top of the afternoon to y'all!


I have been studying the book of Ruth in-depth for the Bible Bee summer study and really enjoying some amazing sermons that have helped me understand the message of Ruth and its applications.


I just had to share them with you, but before I do, disclaimer: I listened to them while washing the dishes, gardening, doing laundry, walking by the road, etc., - all activities with a high potential for noise and interruption. Therefore, I was not able to listen to every word from every sermon, so please do not hold me to the beliefs presented in any of these sermons. Please don't anyway, even if I was able to listen to them with perfect attention in a sound-proof room, because these are fallible men sharing their thoughts on God's Word... I do not 100% endorse any of these sermons for that reason. :D I just found them super incredibly helpful in my study of the book of Ruth in general and wanted to share them with you!


As you may notice, as I had time, I typed up a very short 'synopsis/summary' of my immediate thoughts on the sermon right after I hit pause at the end. These are literally my raw thoughts, you're welcome. Maybe they'll be helpful if you're wanting to choose between sermons to listen to. :)


(My favorite is the last one!!)


Enjoy!!


May God be exalted,

~ Kina


P.S. There were several more that I listened to but didn't find very helpful, so I left them out. :) Therefore, in my opinion, every one of the sermons on this list was worth my time listening to. :)) Just FYI. :)



 


The Barley Harvest by Voddie Baucham

I understand PROVIDENCE and REDEMPTION sooooo much better because of this amazing amazing sermon!! Definitely sticks out in my mind among this group of sermons. :))


Boaz: A Christian Businessman

Lessons on fearing God & enjoying Him and His gifts


Boaz: Redemption Accomplished

Wow, a very good sermon on the big picture of what went on at the interaction at the gate, and Naomi’s choices. PROVIDENCE was a big theme.


“Ruth” by Charles Spurgeon

Pretty good. Explained what was going on when Ruth decided to go with Naomi.


Gospel According to Ruth Part 1 by Matthew Fisher

A good 3-part sermon series, in my opinion


Gospel According to Ruth Part 2 by Matthew Fisher

A good 3-part sermon series, in my opinion


Gospel According to Ruth Part 3 by Matthew Fisher

A good 3-part sermon series, in my opinion


The Book of Ruth - An Intro

Wow, an excellent sermon! It puts the book of Ruth into place and sets up the story & what’s going on really well, meanwhile showcasing God’s providence through redemption for man’s sin & mistakes.


The Kinsman Redeemer by Richard Caldwell Jr.

Woah! Excellent, excellent sermon! Explained how a kinsman redeemer works and what was going on with Boaz, then went on to connect how Jesus is OUR *kinsman* Redeemer.


The Marriage Union Between Ruth & Boaz

AMAAAAAAAAAAAAZZZING SERMON, especially when it got into the part about Obed and fruit.


Discovering Christ in Ruth

WOW, amazing sermon! Wonderful Christology!!! Really explained the “kinsman” part of “kinsman redeemer” and Christ’s incarnation.


Boaz: A Godly Man of Wisdom

I remember this being an amazing sermon I learned a LOT from.


The Redeemed Bride

Wonderful, wonderful sermon. Really solid biblically and had some wise practical insights.


Narrative Art And Biblical Theology in the Book of Ruth

Interesting sermon! Good facts about the narrative structure and the points that it makes! I got distracted halfway through, so wasn’t perfectly engaged the whole time, and a lot of it I seemed to have already known from other sermons, but still really solid! He made a VERY good case about the Old Testament pointing to Christ. I had to listen on 1.5x speed. :)


Ruth’s Covenantal Love - Ruth 2

Beautiful sermon! So much beautiful truth & stories!! So many wonderful connections/lessons/inspirations for young ladies. Helps in the understanding of 1 Peter 3, too. :))


Boaz: A Godly Man’s Covenantal Love - Ruth 2

WOW! Every single person interested in a relationship HAS to listen to this!!! Boaz is such a beautiful reflection of Christ and the gospel!!! This sermon put into words some of the reasons why I appreciate and trust my guy so much and am so grateful for him!! Wonderfully theologically RICH, as well as full of PRACTICALLY rich & inspiring lessons for young men, and helpful exhortations for young women in evaluating potential spouses for themselves. SO GOOD. Also learned a lot about the book of Ruth and the culture and why Ruth wouldn’t have been an immediate option to most of the men in Bethlehem.


May Boaz And Ruth Marry?

(Really interesting, especially about what Ruth did. I personally don't think I agree about his threshing floor opinions so much, I tend to take the other view that Naomi was misinformed, and misinformed, but it was still very thorough. Wonderful wonderful thoughts on resisting temptation.)


The Romance Of Redemption And The Glory Of Covenant Love

Wow, amazing sermon. He tied Ruth and the story of the gospel together so beautifully!!! He used a poem that John Piper wrote (who took some artistic license, and I'm not sure I would agree with all of it, but was still very good) on the story of Ruth which was very beautiful. He made so many connections between Christ and Boaz!


Christ, our Kinsman Redeemer

Overall, a very good + important sermon. He thought of + addressed a lot of the things I've thought of/been wondering about. Good stuff.


Ruth’s Request & Boaz’ Integrity - Ruth 3

Oh, really, really, really good sermon. This is what I believe about the threshing floor scene, explained so carefully and biblically. He connected it really well with the gospel, too! So edifying!!


Sin, Suffering, Single Ladies, and Sovereign Kindness

Woah!! Would be a really amazing great one to start out with as an introduction to the book of Ruth for studying/understanding!! Great history, context, applications, analogies, etc.!!


The Kinsman Redeemer in Ruth and the Resurrection of Christ

Good sermon... I missed the exact section about how it tied to Jesus' RESURRECTION though, because family members started talking to me and I forgot to pause it in the background. :) But sounded like it could potentially be good.


Don’t Go To The Garbage Pail To Get Your Dinner

Wow, amazing warnings, lessons, and admonitions from the life of Elimelech. Really hit home. Great truths about discerning the will of God... by how NOT to do it. This sermon really stood out at me. I don't think I could ever forget the lessons from Elimelech now.


The Character of Boaz

Aah, so good!! Talked about the diligence, authority, graciousness, and prudence of Boaz.


The Character of Ruth & Boaz

This was really good!!! Very inspiring points made about their character.


Ruth Approaches Boaz On The Threshing Floor

Very interesting indeed! He likened Ruth’s approach to Boaz to a sinner’s approach to Christ for justification.


Imagine A Ruthless Christmas

Good sermon, more like a Bible Study, about how God can bring good out of bad for a family, for a nation, and for the world.


Redeemed Gender Roles

WOW. This is one of the best sermons I’ve listened to… he GETS it, he understands the theme/message(s) of the whole book of Ruth, while being able to tie it practically and accurately and helpfully to modern life and brings out other passages of Scripture. This is probably one of the best descriptions & encouragements in biblical manhood & womanhood that I have ever heard.


The Gospel According To Ruth

WOAH!! I AM SPEECHLESS, utterly speechless!!! I don't know when I have heard anything so beautiful!!!!! I am SO glad I listened to this sermon!!!! The gospel according to Ruth is like a Hollywood romance story... only sooooooo much better!!!!! (I mean, duh, I guess that's not hard to do anyway, lol, but) This answered so many questions I had about the book of Ruth, too, such as who Mr. So-and-so represents (that really made my jaw hit the floor.) This sermon realllllly reminds me of my studies in Song of Solomon... made me think that the scents and adornment Ruth put on could be the offerings of repentance, faith, praise, etc., just like the adornments of the bride in SOS. Sermon was rightly titled, and I highly recommend it!!!!! If you're going to listen to just one, let it be this one!!




~ To The Utmost Glory Of God ~

bottom of page