top of page

Feed The Right Dog.



A brother and I were running an errand last night and got talking about a verse that was convicting to both of us. It was a very edifying conversation, but we both mentioned how hard it is to actually put what we talked about into practice. (Can anyone relate?! :D) My brother brought up the verse that says, "The flesh lusts against the spirit and the spirit against the flesh, and these two are contrary to one another...." (Galatians 5:17)


"Ah, that reminds me of a story!" he said.

"Do tell!" I replied.

"So, there was once a man with two dogs, and they would fight once a week, week after week. He would always predict to his friends which one would win, and he was always right!"

"Hm, was it always the same dog that would win, is that how he knew?" I joked.

"No, it was completely random... like, one dog would win two weeks in a row, the other one the next three, then back and forth for a few weeks, etc."

"Hm... well then how did he know which one would win?!" I asked.

"Yeah, so his friends finally asked him the same thing... they said, 'How in the world are you able to predict accurately which dog is going to win week after week?!' And he said, "Ah, that's easy, I just feed the dog I want to win.'"

"Woah." I replied. "Eeeks, that's powerful." I understood the connection immediately. OUR spirits and flesh fight daily, and the one that's going to win is the one that we are feeding.


I thanked him for sharing the story with me and reflected on my spiritual and fleshly eating habits. What was I feeding? Or was I feeding both?


"Both" is a word that I have come to inwardly tremble at in specific contexts because the Bible has a lot to say about purity, and "both" doesn't fit into that word. A pure heart is a single heart... it is unpolluted by second affections. A pure mind is a single mind... it is unpolluted by conflicting beliefs. A pure person is someone who has one holy desire and acts accordingly. Therefore, if I am feeding both spirit and flesh, I am an impure person. If I would be pure, I may only feed one dog.



Choosing between feeding the flesh or spirit is often a gut-wrenching choice for me. My flesh is the noisiest to be fed, while the spirit quietly offers me precious promises of blessing. I guess the decisions I make regularly regarding flesh and spirit boils down to my love for God. Do I love God enough to let my hungry flesh starve while simultaneously going to work hard for hidden, duggen treasures to feed my spirit with? Why sure I do. He let His own flesh be crucified for me in order to resurrect my spirit. The least I can do for Him is starve my stubborn flesh and nurture the spirit He has given me so that it can actually win the battles He has asked me - not to just fight in - but in His strength, to win.


Practically speaking, my flesh wants things like frustration over problems, complaint in difficult circumstances, gratification at all times of the desire to let others do everything possible for me, the excessive input of exciting, stimulating experiences through platforms like social media, videos, and songs, and want to lapse into distrust of God's holy, just will for my life and others, and many other things.

Meanwhile, the spirit desires to pursue the knowledge of God, imitate Him as a dear child, continually offer the sacrifice of praise, give thanks always for all things to God, work heartily in everything it does as unto the Lord and not unto men... or self, trust in Him at all times and pour out its heart to Him, love everyone the way it has been loved by Jesus, and grow by the pure milk of the Word.


But these things are contrary to one another, and if I feed both dogs, don't they have a harder struggle?




So I think it is best to feed just one, and I want the spirit to win for God's glory. I am personally resolving to a higher commitment of feeding my spirit daily and sufficiently with God's Word, and am putting feet behind this resolution because I want a strong spirit that can WIN!


"And the Child grew and became strong in spirit, filled with wisdom; and the grace of God was upon Him."
~ Luke 2:40

"Desire the pure milk of the Word, that you may grow thereby..." ~ 1 Peter 2:2


May God be exalted,

~ Katarina



bottom of page