top of page

Radiant Youth-Hood: Example In Love


Example In Love:

1. Action, Sacrifice:

This one is easy!!

*Clears throat.*

Actually, what I mean is, if one has this one down, it is easy to stand out! Only a tiny minority of people in this world actually know how to love in the right sense.

Jesus, again, is the ultimate example for us. The love that He showed for us on the cross was not deserved by us. It was completely sacrificial, and an obvious act of His indescribable mercy.

Our family makes maple syrup every year from the maple trees on our property. While I love the result, I have to admit that my least favorite job of the entire year is washing the 100 buckets that are used to collect the sap from the trees. The maple syrup season usually ends around early March here, when the weather is still quite crisp, a time when I would much rather be baking a batch of cookies than giving a mini car wash over and over again to the same old buckets. But God always works on my heart at that time of year, convicting me of my selfishness. It always seems to go something like this - “You’d buy your siblings a gift for their birthday when it's all celebration and fun and lovey-dovey stuff, but you're not willing to help them wash buckets in the cold? Katarina, do you really love them? Do you really love Me?”

Jesus asked Peter if he loved Him. Peter did, he thought. Then Jesus told Peter to feed His sheep. He asked him this three times. By the third time he asked, Peter was grieved! He answered, “Lord, You know all things; You know that I love You.” (John 21:17.) He was likely thinking, “Can't you just see into my heart?! There is lots of love in there for you, Jesus!” But Jesus wanted an action, an obedience, a sacrifice, not just a declaration or vow of love.

He has asked the same of us. Obeying our parents cheerfully the first time, not answering back, not being condemning to our siblings, and developing a deep, intimate relationship with Him, etc. etc… it takes sacrifice. There are incredible rewards to be found in doing all of those things, but it often means exchanging what we want for what He has asked us to do.

2. Fervent Love - How Does Love Radiate Out Of You?

I was challenged recently with a definition of the Greek word used for ‘fervent' in this verse:

“But above all things have fervent love for one another…” ~ 1 Peter 4:8.

It has the idea of stretching and stretching a rubber band until it just can’t stretch any more.

We are to have this type of love for each other. This will look different for everyone, but it definitely means that we need to forgive each other as He forgave us.

Another idea is to reach beyond ourselves and think outside the box for how we can show the love that we have toward others. My favorite way to do this is by notes. I love to send people cards and letters of encouragement, or leave them places for my family to find. I have a friend who was really good at this. From the seclusion of her bedroom, she touched hundreds of hearts through her unexpected notes of encouragement that she would randomly send to people. Her notes always included some Scripture verses, a hand-lettered Scripture card, some words of encouragement, and how she was praying for that person. She, figuratively speaking, reached out a hand and helped many people who were struggling, gave an encouraging shove to many who were plodding, and cheered many on who were sailing by in a sprint. It was a beautiful reflection of the love that was in her heart. This was the way that it radiated out of her.

How does love radiate out of you?

If you don't know, I encourage you to start trying to figure out. And you can’t go wrong with praying for people. “We give thanks to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, praying always for you," ~ Colossians 1:3.

Practical Application: Is there someone you’ve met who you would have rather have not? Perhaps they have bad hygiene, are clumsy, demanding, or rude. Or perhaps it's a sibling who knows how to push those selfishness buttons perfectly. There are plenty of ways that you can politely back out of a relationship with them, or let them know that you are annoyed, but this is actually a more wonderful opportunity than you might think to glorify God! Something I've been reminded of many times when I’m in a relationship like this is that Jesus died for me when I was a detestable sinner, rebelling against Him and stealing glory from His Name. And if He died for me when I was in that state, how ungrateful would it be for me to deny love to someone who is annoying to me? By treating that person with respect, showing appreciation for them, and choosing to get to know them despite how I feel about them, I can reflect a small picture of my own salvation story.

Also, try becoming an Epaphras:

Epaphras, who is one of you, a bondservant of Christ, greets you, always laboring fervently for you in prayers, that you may stand perfect and complete in all the will of God.

~ Colossians 4:12.

~ To The Utmost Glory Of God ~

bottom of page