top of page

Of God's Faithfulness - February 2019


What did I tell you? I have so much to write about, so let's begin!

  • A friend of ours had twins 3 months early. There were so many answered prayers relating to this story! We were bathing the situation in prayer and the babies are doing well. Here's something I wrote elsewhere about it:

I've been earnestly praying that God would exalt Himself in my life for I don't know how long. He has answered this prayer several times already, and He just did it again! A friend of ours was/is in the hospital, so mama and I visited her, and while there, she hinted that she would love to have some Scripture on the walls of her room. She said she would want some good gospel verses so that she could evangelize to the nurses or anyone else that came in, so I hand lettered several Scripture passages/verses, and mama took them to her later. As a family, we prayed specifically that God would use those Scriptures to accomplish what He pleased. A couple days ago, she called and said that she just had to tell me something. First she said that several of the nurses that had come in had noticed them, and then she said that she had 2 big things to tell me: One nurse in particular liked them and was taking pictures of them, so she had offered to let her take one. She was tickled pink and now has it posted by her desk. But she saved the best story for last. She said someone came into her room to visit her, and she got to share the gospel with that person for about an hour, using the Scriptures on the wall in the conversation. They had shared the gospel previously with that person, but it hadn't gone very well. What a simple little thing it was, but God answered that prayer request in two very big ways! I'm so thrilled!!! :D

For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. ~ Hebrews 4:12

So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it. ~ Isaiah 55:11

  • One day while washing my hands, my earring fell out without an obvious cause, and I wondered if the earring back had slid down the drain. This is basically the minutest little annoyance that could possibly happen, but I asked God to save the earring and help me find it. I looked down, and it was in my hair. :D

  • One Sunday, moments after our pastor had said the finishing prayer, his wife told him that he had just gotten a text from a relative saying his nephew had been in a bad car accident and was in critical condition. We all immediately began to pray for him. I took that prayer request home and prayed for him all week. Later, we learned that he was out of danger, just had a lot of broken bones poor guy! Thankful for his life.

  • Another way God answered some prayers was at the grocery store. He answered the "please glorify Yourself in my life" prayer, and the "please give me a verse" prayer. You see, this store has a chalkboard where children can draw on while their parents check out. I always have a habit of writing a Scripture verse on it. Each time we go to this store, I always forget about this and don't have time to prepare. When we come out of the last aisle and I see the check out stations and chalk board, this is what usually runs through my head: "Oh! That's right!! Yikes, what shall I write? Dear Lord, please give me a verse." Every time, a verse pops into my mind immediately. Every time, He gives me the perfect verse, I think, to put on the board. This time, as soon as I asked for a verse, the words, "Beware, brethren, lest there be in any of you an evil heart of unbelief in departing from the living God ~ Hebrews 3:12" popped into my head. Usually, I tell everyone in the car what I wrote, and we pray over it. I trust that God is doing something for the kingdom with these words, for they do not return void. This is the first time I've remembered to write about it here though. :D

  • I've hesitated to write about it here until this season was over, but now that it is, I must tell of God's faithfulness. Daddy's client's client ran out of business last year, which subsequently mean daddy was out of work to do. When this happened, both he and my mother demonstrated great faith. They never spoke anxiously or acted anxious or showed any form of anxiety whatsoever about it, but continually said things like, "wow! I can't wait to see how God will provide!" A little while later, daddy got a temporary contract, and it was a great blessing. However, while at Bible Bee, right after my orals, actually, he got the call that it was coming to an end soon after we got home. Again, my parents just waited patiently for God's timing, fully trusting Him. Very recently, my dad just started up with a new stable client, and we are seeing so much answer to prayer. Just today, some friends were over working on our house, and asked about his work situation. We told the story, and he told us how he had been praying for daddy for about a month. We are so thankful for close friends who were praying for him (as were we! :D) Mostly, I am grateful for the example of my parents, who showed me what it is like to trust God in the bigger things. I don't think I can really express how impactful it was, to see unwavering faith played out day to day in front of my eyes, and I am so, so grateful for the grace He gave them to trust Him completely, and for the way He provided abundantly for our every need.

  • One day I just had a really, really good day. It was one of those days that makes you stop and think and say, "God, that was from You, and thank you!" It was also one of those days that was so good that it convicted me that my gratitude ought to be unconditional.

  • If you read last month's post, you know that last year I was praying for relationships for a bunch of single friends of mine, and how 3 of them are now either in a relationship, engaged, or married. Well, a dear friend's mother just called my mother to let her know that this dear friend is also now in a relationship. You should have heard the joy that erupted in our house when we heard! :D :D This girl was like an older sister to me, and it's kind of a funny thing now that she's in a relationship! I'm just sooooo happy for her, and I haven't stopped praying. :D

  • One time, there was something that needed to be done, in order for me to do something that I needed to do, but the person that needed to do the thing hadn't done it. He/she had been reminded a couple of times, but nothing was happening. I was sitting on a stool in the kitchen, wrestling with my desire to remind them another time, but I realized that it would only make them not want to do it more, and would demonstrate a lack of faith in God to take matters into my own hands. So I asked God to remind them for me, and I promised I wouldn't say another word about the matter. I kid you not, about three seconds after I prayed, someone much more qualified to bring up the matter to this person brought it up to him/her. LOL! :D After the person-that-needed-to-do-the-thing left the room, I burst out laughing. I couldn't believe it. :D

  • I had something I wanted to give to someone. It was really small, and I thought I had stuck it in a certain envelope, but when I went to get it, I couldn't find it. I didn't turn the house upside down, but I definitely did some deep searching. I cleaned out drawers, looked under beds and couches, searched every counter, desk top, and shelf, and even looked under blankets. It was tempting to start to panic and get frustrated, but experience with these types of situations made it seem ridiculous to do so. I knelt down on my rug and asked God to help me find it. I looked up, and it was on the floor by my chair. It must have slipped out and fallen down. It's funny... I couldn't see it from up high, but when I knelt down and prayed, it was right at my eye-level. :D

Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.

~ John 16:24 ~

bottom of page