top of page

The Day I Greeted A 'Terrorist'


I was volunteering at the registration booth at the Teach Them Diligently convention... and having a blast. :D Thursday was busy, Friday was great, and Saturday was slow... except for one thing.

There was another event happening at the same time as the Teach Them Diligently convention in the convention center. It was called Comic Con, or Wizard World, I'm still not sure which one. All I know about it is that people dressed up as their favorite movie/cartoon/comic character. But I only saw two costumes that whole weekend that I liked - one was a flower girl, and the other was Belle, a Disney princess. If she'd had sleeves, I might have worn her outfit too. :D

For a lot of Friday, and all of Saturday, I spent my time redirecting Comic Con attendees to the correct booth, because they saw Teach Them Diligently's official looking desk and figured that that was where they would check in for Comic Con. I loved seeing their reactions when I told them this was the registration desk for a homeschool conference! :D

As you can see from the picture I took above, I spent some of my time during slow periods memorizing James for Bible Bee. I also brought along my Thrive Study Journal.

My nose was actually buried in James when it happened.

My eye caught a bit of movement, so I looked up. My heart skipped a beat and then throbbed wildly. My face became hot.

Standing before me was a man with white strips of cloth covering all of his face except for his eyes. He was dressed in some type of military khaki, and a machine gun was slung over his shoulder. He looked like a terrorist.

Oh, my heart!

We stared at each other for about five seconds before my brain happily realized that he must be looking for Comic Con. A smile jumped on my face.

"Oh, you must be looking for Comic Con!" I said, a little too enthusiastically. Inside I was thinking, "You'd better be!!!!"

He nodded. I was SO relieved!!

"Okay, so you'll want to go over there by the black curtains," I told him. He nodded, thanked me, and departed. His machine gun must have been a fake.

I've had fun telling this story to a couple friends. It was only recently that I realized that I could learn a great lesson from this story.

Hundreds of people came to the desk and left the desk that weekend. There were hundreds of different skin tones, voices, and clothing styles that I encountered. There were big families and small families, older couples and children. There were people who had come for the homeschool convention, and people that were coming for Comic Con. Sometimes I could tell, and sometimes I couldn't... I had to ask. *So awkward.* And then there was the 'terrorist.'

And I realized, he's just a guy! Just like so many other people out there. His outfit made him look like a terrorist, and my outfit made me look like a normal girl. But our hearts are made out of the same material (figuratively speaking.) I know that I have hated people in my life, which makes me no better than a murderer.

Whoever hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life abiding in him.

~ 1 John 3:15

I assume that that man has never literally killed anyone in his life. Neither have I, but this man's outfit was a reminder to me of how bad I am left to myself. But for God's redemption in my life, I could literally be compared to a terrorist at heart.

You know what I was reminded of when I remembered how bad I am?

Of God's {amazing} Grace!

For scarcely for a righteous man will one die;yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

~ Romans 5:7-8

I literally laughed out loud. I know for sure that God has a sense of humor. :D I mean, He just used a 'TERRORIST' outfit to remind me of His goodness!!

Isn't God good?

~ To The Glory Of God Alone ~

bottom of page