top of page

6 Things To Do Instead Of The Screen


For some of you it might be your phone, but for me it's the computer since I don't have a phone. Hopping onto the computer in my free time is really tempting for me. Lots of times I don't even have a reason to be on there - it's just easier than going outside or reading a book.

So I'm writing this to MEEEEE!!!

If you benefit from it, great!

#1: Write A Card

People need so much encouragement.

This spring I took my calendar and wrote someone's name in each box for February, March, and April, and each day wrote a card to the person I'd written down for that day. I included a Scripture verse or two, an encouraging note, and maybe a pretty verse card. (Sometimes I would send a text with a pretty graphic or contact someone through G+ or emailed them.) I also prayed for each person before I sent the letter, and let them know that had I prayed for them in the card. Before I began the whole project, I prayed that the letters would be timely and encourage people when they most needed it.

I WAS AMAZED!!!

Almost every single person (or at least a great deal of them) wrote back saying something like this:

"Thank you so much for the note!! I can't tell you how much it blessed me!! I've been having a difficult time lately (sometime's they'd share what had been happening - stuff I had no idea was going on!) and your note was like a burst of sunshine! (Some people told me they cried.) It was SO very timely! You encouraged me greatly - God knew I needed that. Thank you for obeying His urge!!"

Besides being so profitable, the cards only took me about 5-10 minutes each day!

#2: Read A Book

Someone at church once encouraged the congregation to read big books. He says if you just take 15 minutes a day and read a couple pages or a chapter or two, you'd be surprised how fast you can read books - especially the big ones that look daunting. Besides that, if you're reading solid Christian books, they will be strengthening your spiritual walk whereas the screen can often be a huge waste of time.

#3: Go Outside

This year I started gardening with my family each morning. If you've read my post "God Doesn't Expect Us To Be Fairytale Princesses," you know that I do NOT like gardening. Nu-huh. Not my thing. The bugs and the feel of dirt do not appeal to me. But this year I decided to give it a try, trying to be especially obedient and honoring to my parents and setting a good example to my little siblings.

Y'know what I found out?

Gardening's not so bad! Nothing I plant comes up, so I don't plant anymore, but I can weed + mulch. (BTW, if you're a gardener and you haven't seen Back To Eden, you should go watch it. It has revolutionized our gardening AND made weeding 80-90% easier.) I rather like it! The change was not my environment, but my change of mind.

That was a bit of a rabbit trail, but you should seriously go outside. Not only is it healthy, but it is a great place to think.

#4: Read A Book To Your Siblings

My younger siblings LOVE it when I read them books. They each get to take turns picking out books for me to read. Now we're reading "The Life Of George Washington," "Pollyanna," and "Ishmael" and I mainly read it to them when we're driving or if I have free time. Sometimes I also tell them stories.

Really, the idea is to be spending time with your siblings, and reading a book is one of my favorite ways to do that!

#5: Bake Something

I like to make treats in my free time when I'm feeling productive. Lia's Toffee Recipe is a favorite, but I only make it occasionally (I mean, it's almost straight sugar!)

My favorite option is Peanut Butter Bars though.

1 cup Peanut Butter

1 cup Butter

1 cup baking syrup (or 2/3 cup sugar)

4 Eggs

2 cups freshly ground hard white wheat

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

Optional - handful of raisins

Turns out light + fluffy! SOOOOO good!! :D

#6: Organize/Get Rid Of Stuff

This might be my favorite. I LOVE to throw stuff away and organize things! But even if I didn't, I would still do it because it makes a difference and changes wasted time into profitable time! I like to pick a book shelf, or a shelf on a bookshelf, and just tackle it. Sometimes I take everything out, organizing it into piles: give away, throw away, keep, and stuff to put somewhere else. Then I put the keep stuff back on the shelf. It works really well! Mama appreciates it, I feel productive, and it's nice to look at!

Bonus - Memorize Scripture

(The reason this is a bonus is because I realized I had 7 points AFTER I made the picture for the post, and I didn't want to re-do it to say "7 things to do instead of the screen.")

Sometimes I say "I don't have time to memorize Scripture!"

Uh...

I do. I have time to do LOTS of things!! It's really all about priority. Instead of sliding into the computer seat, I can pick up a Bible and memorize a verse! Lifelong rewards verses entertainment? Lifelong rewards please.

Tips:

1. Read the verse 10 times

2. Close your eyes and recite it 10 times, emphasizing one different word each time.

3. Move onto verse two, repeating steps 1 + 2.

4. Once you have that verse down, repeat both verses a couple times.

5. Move onto verse 3, and so on.

Have a profitable day!

~ To The Glory Of God Alone ~

bottom of page