top of page

How Having An Eternal Mindset Changed The Way I View Myself


You're really enjoying the party until the popular girl comes in with her really pretty dress and all the other kids turn their heads to look at her. Then you start thinking, "I should have picked a different outfit," or, "I should workout more," or, "I need to start making more friends so that I'll be more popular." Yes. I get it. I think everyone past the age of four gets it. I think it is safe to say we've all struggled with pursuing better looks, better status, better things. And up until awhile ago, I was desperate for some freedom from that thinking. Anywhere I'd go, I'd compare myself to other people. It was a matter of pride one day, and mistrust in God for the way He made me and envy for the way other people looked another day. I knew it was wrong, and I earnestly wanted to stop, but I was so me-focused, that I couldn't break free.

And then I thought of something. I thought about what it would be like if I kept that mindset. On my deathbed would I regret chasing after beauty and popularity? Yes. I would. And when I get to heaven will it matter whether I was the most popular girl on the block? Absolutely not.

"But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” ~ 1 Samuel 16:7

"For no other foundation can anyone lay than that which is laid, which is Jesus Christ. Now if anyone builds on this foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw, each one’s work will become clear; for the Day will declare it, because it will be revealed by fire; and the fire will test each one’s work, of what sort it is."

~ 1 Corinthians 3:11-13

That was a wake up call! I was chasing the things that would pass away, not the things that will last forever. Here are the things that will last forever:

  • God

  • God's Word

  • Souls

Thankfully, God showed me my error early on. Now, whenever I am tempted to compare myself to others, I look up and tell myself that earthly things will pass away, and pray to God for help. Oh how it has transformed my life!

What we look like doesn't matter. How many people like us doesn't matter (in fact, the Bible says that if we are righteous, people will hate us. Luke 21:17, John 15:19, Psalm 34:21.) What we do for Christ does matter, however, and seeking first beauty and popularity is a path that will totally distract us from seeking first the kingdom of God.

Only one life, 'twill soon be past. Only what's done for Christ will last. ~ C.T. Studd

Have a great day, friends!

~ Kina

bottom of page