top of page

Am I Grateful?


I woke up this morning and rolled out of --- bed!

I opened my closet and it was full of --- clothes!

I went down to breakfast and the table was full of --- food!

I ate lunch! I ate dinner!

I loved and was loved today.

Wow, do I have something to thank God for! But even if I had to sleep on a dirt floor, wear rags, beg for food, even if I never got an education, even if I never had time to play, even if no person ever loved me, I still have cause to be grateful.

Read this poem and see what I mean.

"Borrowed."

They borrowed a bed to lay His head,

When Christ the Lord came down;

They borrowed an ass in the mountain pass

For Him to ride to town;

But the crown that He wore

And the cross that He bore

Were His own.

He borrowed the bread when the crowd He fed

On the grassy mountainside;

He borrowed the dish of broken fish

With which He satisfied;

But the crown that He wore

And the cross that He bore

Were His own.

He borrowed the ship in which to sit

To teach the multitude;

He borrowed the nest in which to rest,

He had never a home as rude;

But the crown that He wore

And the cross that He bore

Were His own.

He borrowed a room on the way to the tomb

The Passover lamb to eat.

They borrowed a cave, for Him a grave,

They borrowed a winding sheet;

But the crown that He wore

And the cross that He bore

Were His own.

The thorns on His head were worn in my stead;

For me the Savior died;

For the guilt of my sin and the nails drove in

When Him they crucified;

Though the crown that He wore

And the cross that He bore

Were His own,

They were rightly mine - instead.

~ Author Unknown

Thanksgiving

Perhaps we have not counted

Our blessings one by one;

Perhaps we have not bothered

Rememb'ring whence they come;

And maybe we have taken

For granted all the things

The good Lord has created,

And by His hand He brings.

The autumn hills are glorious,

A golden field of grain,

A sunset's dazzling splendor,

The Milky Way's great plain,

The starry sky's sublimity,

The ocean's mighty power,

The wonder of creation in

The petal of a flower.

If we've failed to clearly show

By word or act or deed

A thankful heart unto Him

Who fills our daily need,

May we show our gratitude

Today - and count the sum

Of all the blessings that we have

And name them one by one.

~ Author Unknown

Being Thankful

God is love and kindness

To us all below;

On the just and unjust

Sendeth rain and snow.

Let us e'er be thankful

For His love to us.

He's so kind and faithful,

Giving blessings thus.

Let us ask the Saviour,

As we kneel to pray,

Help us to be thankful More and more each day.

Thankful in the morning,

Thankful noon and night;

Thankful for the raindrops,

Thankful for the light.

~ Author Unknown

Father In Heaven, We Thank Thee

For flowers that bloom about our feet,

For tender grass so fresh, so sweet,

For song of bird and hum of bee,

For all things fair we hear or see,

Father in heaven, we thank Thee!

For blue of stream and blue of sky,

For pleasant shade of branches high,

For fragrant air and cooling breeze,

For beauty of the blooming trees,

Father in heaven, we thank Thee!

For mother-love and father-care,

For brothers strong and sisters fair,

For love at home and care each day,

For guidance lest we go astray,

Father in heaven, we thank Thee!

For this new morning and its light,

For rest and shelter of the night,

For health and food, for love and friends,

For ev'rything His goodness sends,

Father in heaven, we thank Thee!

~ Ralph W. Emerson

A Child's Song

I'm thankful for the sunshine bright,

For rain and for the stars at night,

I'm thankful for each flower and tree

And all the beauty that I see.

I'm grateful for our singing birds,

And for my mother's gentle words,

I'm grateful for kind friends and true;

Help me to be a good friend, too.

~ Author Unknown.

Save

bottom of page